Academic Year 2009-2010

Fall Term

August 27, Thursday

August 29, Saturday

REGISTRATION
For times and places of Registration refer to the Registrar’s Website: www.registrar.fas.harvard.edu.

August 21, Friday

Online registration opens.

August 31, Monday

Last day for all freshmen and new transfer students to register online.

September 1, Tuesday

Last day for all visiting undergraduates to register online.
Last day for all continuing and returning students to register online.

September 2, Wednesday
Academic year begins. First meeting of fall term classes, following a Monday schedule. Courses scheduled to meet on Mondays will meet on September 2; courses that meet Wednesday only are scheduled to hold class for the first time on September 9.

September 7, Monday

STUDY CARD DAY

September 10, Thursday

Completed study cards for upperclassmen will be collected at the Houses and are due before 5 pm.

September 11, Friday

Completed study cards for freshmen are due between 9 am and 5 pm in the Faculty Room, Second Floor, University Hall. Completed study cards for new transfer students and visiting undergraduates are due between 9 am and 5 pm at the Common Room, Lehman Hall.

Any study card filed after these dates requires the instructor’s signature for every course listed.


September 11, Friday

September 18, Friday

September 21, Monday

September 30, Friday

October 1, Thursday

October 5, Monday

FIFTH MONDAY

October 5, Monday

No course may be dropped from or added to a student’s record after this date.
No course may be changed from letter-graded to Pass/Fail or from Pass/Fail to letter-graded status for the fall term after this date.

October 12, Monday

October 13, Tuesday

SEVENTH MONDAY

October 19, Monday
Last day upon which students may withdraw from a fall term course. After this date students are responsible for all courses in which they are enrolled. Last day upon which March 2010 Degree Candidates may submit a completed and signed petition for a secondary field to the Office of the Registrar. There are no exceptions to this deadline.


October 23, Friday, through October 24, Saturday

October 29, Thursday

November 11, Wednesday

November 16, Monday

November 18, Wednesday

November 23, Monday

November 26, Thursday, through November 29, Sunday

November 30, Monday

December 4, Friday

READING PERIOD
December 4, Friday, through December 11, Friday

EXAMINIATION PERIOD

December 12, Saturday, through December 21, Monday
See the Registrar’s Website, www.registrar.fas.harvard.edu, for exam times and locations for fall term courses.

December 22, 2009, Tuesday, through January 3, 2010, Sunday

December 22, Tuesday

January 4, Monday, through January 24, Sunday

January 18, Monday

Spring Term

REGISTRATION
For specific times and locations, refer to www.registrar.fas.harvard.edu.

January 20, Wednesday

Online registration opens at the Registrar’s Website.

January 25, Monday

Last day for all continuing, new transfer, and visiting undergraduates to register online.

 January 22, Friday

January 25, Monday

STUDY CARD DAY

January 29, Friday

Completed study cards are due for all students before 5 pm.

Any study card filed after this date requires the instructor’s signature for every course listed.

January 29, Friday

February 5, Friday

February 8, Monday

February 15, Monday

February 16, Tuesday

FIFTH MONDAY

February 22, Monday

Last day upon which a course may be dropped from or added to a student’s record. No course may be changed from letter-graded to Pass/Fail or from Pass/Fail to letter-graded status for the spring term after this date.

Last day upon which 2009-2010 full courses may be divided with credit for the first half. If this has not already been done on the study card, students must file a petition to divide with credit, complete with any necessary signatures, by this date.

February 22, Monday

February 24, Wednesday

March 1, Monday

March 5, Friday, through March 6, Saturday

SEVENTH MONDAY

March 8, Monday

Last day upon which students may withdraw from a spring term course. Last day upon which students may withdraw from a full course. After this date students are responsible for all courses in which they are enrolled.

Last day upon which June 2010 and November 2010 degree candidates may submit a completed and signed petition for a secondary field to the Office of the Registrar. There are no exceptions to this deadline.

March 13, Saturday, through March 21, Sunday

March 28, Sunday

April 2, Friday

April 20, Sunday

April 29, Thursday

READING PERIOD
April 29, Thursday, through May 6, Thursday

EXAMINATION PERIOD
May 7, Friday, through May 15, Saturday
See the Registrar’s Website, www.registrar.fas.harvard.edu, for exam times and locations for  spring term courses.

May 16, Sunday

May 17, Monday

May 27, Thursday

May 28, Friday

May 31, Monday